Suddenly and Extremely Popular

So this week I have become suddenly and extremely popular. The third time in two days I have been nominated for an award. Poet Laureate here I come.  I guess I best start writing some poetry. Here’s one I wrote when I was a bartender. Actually during a shift in a bar call Sticks.

There once was a lass from Sticks

Who served no drinks, just practised her tricks.

But it got so dead,

That she dropped on her head,

A giant bag of bricks.

I guess you are all feeling a little lachrymose now. It is very touching I know. I was nominated for a Liebster Award, which I have heard tell (google machine) that Liebster means ‘dearest’ in German, but I think in this context it actually means favourite? Anyway the aptly described, dearest bloggers: born and read and Kara from What Kara Reads (congrats on the engagement babe!) and Becky from My Infernal Imagination have nominated me, thankyou guys. I was standing in line for a two-for-one steak when I discovered I’d been nominated and I was so excited I almost left the line. But it was pretty good steak. So I figured my joyful shouting would have to wait. AYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY! I would just like to reiterate that I didn’t eat two steaks, one was for my sister.

The dearest blogger rules are as follows:

Link to the blogger who nominated you to thank them.

Answer the 11 questions your nominator asks of you (I’ve just chosen my favourites)

Tag 11 bloggers who have less than 200 followers.

Ask your 11 nominees questions and let them know you nominated them.

However. I now have two lots of questions to answer. So gather round my children, let me tell you the story of my life as directed by the other Liebster’s.

  1. Who, in your opinion, is the most overrated Hollywood star?

Beyonce. Without a doubt. Her music is only so-so, she photo shops like it’s going out of season, and what was that whole thing with Solange and Jay Z fighting in the elevator? She’s hiding something, and Queen Bey will soon be knocked off of her stolen throne when the skeletons come out.

  1. When did you last laugh in an inappropriate setting?

Five minutes ago. A small child tripped over her dad’s feet and I giggled because her mentos tube she was clutching her fat little hands went everywhere. She just sort of stared at them and her father freaked out and I laughed. He glared at me. Come on man, you give your child a handful of sweets at age 1, who is doing the real damage here?

  1. What’s a trend that you just don’t understand?

Kale. It’s just like a sexier spinach, and it won’t make you immortal or magic, or whatever it is you think it achieves. Same with quinoa.

  1. Have you ever kept a diary?

I did once for a while, but I treated it like I would any other writing project: reading it again a few days later and decided my writing was terrible so I would rip it out.

  1. What are you using to read this right now?

My eyeballs.

  1. What book(s) makes you laugh?

I remember being extremely giddy with excitement when I read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix so I was laughing maniacally the majority of the time. I’m not sure it was even funny but when McGonagall helps Peeves to destroy school property (“It unscrews the other way”). I laughed very loudly in a very public place and looking back on that I feel like I maybe didn’t have to be quite so damn happy about it.

  1. Do you see movie adaptations of books you loved?

I certainly do. I try not to hold a terribly high standard for the movies of my favourite books. An imagination is a hard thing to capture on a screen. It’s interesting to see how someone else has pictured it. I think it’s the closest we can come to being in someone else’s mind.

  1. What do you enjoy most about blogging?

It’s like my literature course at university. Everyone is like-minded and interested in things I have to say, yet I don’t have to get out of my pyjamas to participate.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

In the last four years I have been inspired by three different stories for creative writing purposes: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Atonement by Ian McEwan and a short story called The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, and I really couldn’t tell you why.

  1. Caffeine or alcohol?

Caffahol? Alcoine? …probably Alcohol. Can I just drink expresso martini’s?

  1. Do you prefer paperbacks, hardcovers, or e-books?

Surely no one prefers ebooks? How is this even still a debate right now! Paperbacks though. Hardcovers are just not malleable enough to cope with my aerobic reading.

Here are my Q’s

  1. What book cover do you wish you could violently throw in the marketing/publisher/etc’s face and say “Try again Picasso!”?
  2. Name a skill you are ridiculously proud of?
  3. What book character looks most like you in your opinion?
  4. What’s the oldest thing you have ever found in your fridge?
  5. Why did you start writing a blog?
  6. What blog has the best name you have come across? Tag them.
  7. If you could bring back one book character from the other side, who would it be?
  8. The last socially inappropriate thing you did?
  9. What do you think is the biggest sin for a reader?
  10. What were you doing when you got notified for nomination?
  11. Your favourite haiku or limerick? – yes, yes, you can pick my ‘Sticks’ limerick.

Nominees:

  1. Holly from Nut Free Nerd
  2. Always Opinionated Girl
  3. Sumaira from Hyper About Books
  4. The Writing Hufflepuff
  5. Book Olympus

Okay that’s enough. I don’t want to be here all day.

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)