‘Landline’ by Rainbow Rowell

★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Might I start by saying – I cannot believe this is the book who won Good Reads Book of 2014.

landline

Photo by Peychaud

I guess my age is showing when I say I did not particularly enjoy this book. It’s a tale of a middle aged woman who is having some boring marital troubles. I should have listened to my gut instinct when it told be ‘anyone with a name like Rainbow Rowell will not be capable of writing anything that isn’t cutesy.’  What a waste of my third book of the year.

There is wishy washy love triangle between Seth, Georgie, and Neal (ugliest name ever) and it was just awful. I didn’t ship Seth, the long term best friend who loved her for yours, I didn’t ship her husband whom she had two children with. I was rooting for her to go back to her job and accelerate her career. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate love, or think of it as a second class citizen, I just really don’t care for Georgie’s love life. She’s been married to this fellow for what 15 years? 20 years? Congratulations on making up with your husband after a fight – but it’s nothing to write home about. Or in my case, write online about. Except it is because I am. But only for your sake. You need the truth. The internet is lying to you about Landline.

Georgie spent the book telling us how obsessed she was with work, then proceeded to turn up late every day, not work at all when she went, and leave early. Then at the end SPOILER, ignore her work and dream job entirely to do an 80’s rom-com dash to the airport. Will someone hold my hair back while I throw up the averageness of this book? She is the funniest woman in the world everybody lies(apparently) yet I didn’t laugh once. She doesn’t get enough sleep, yet sleeps till 12 every day. Her last name is McCool yet she is so VERY FAR FROOM COOL. Everything I was lead to believe was the opposite.

I rarely write a review of a book I didn’t enjoy, but after all the hype and all the drama of landline online, and the clearly falsified Goodreads stance, I felt I should probably let you, dear reader, know the truth. It’s fairly shit. Maybe if you have two children, and a mopey husband you will find this relatable and heartening, but it made me feel murderous and consider actually murdering someone just so I know my life will never turn into this.

I need to be consolidated. I need angry chocolate. And I need angry TV.

7 thoughts on “‘Landline’ by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Bec Graham

    This makes me sad! This is the second negative review I’ve read of this book! And I love Rainbow Rowell! Eleanor & Park and Fangirl were incredible. Not cutesy at all. They were fantastic!

    I feel like Rowell may have tried her hand at fiction for adults too soon. Maybe she should try a few more YA novels first? She seems to understand that demographic more, if these reviews are anything to go by!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Amy Wallin Post author

      It was just too hard to relate to, hence care about. Which is strange because I seem to relate to demons and vampires just fine. It’s made me rather tentative to try her other books. Should not have started with landline…

      Like

      Reply
      1. Bec Graham

        Her absolute best novel was Eleanor and Park. Which was her debut, funnily enough.
        I think you have to connect with characters on at least one fundamental level and if you can’t do that then the book becomes horrible. Some characters just suck and there’s nothing you can do about it

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Pingback: I’ll get to it when I get to it | It's Only Three

  3. Pingback: ‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell | it's only three

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

