‘Crown of Midnight’ by Sarah J. Maas

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I started Crown of Midnight immensely relieved. Here was a likeable protagonist. Evil and cold, 18005628leaving more questions than answered. It lasted all of fifty words before the bouncing bubbly Cinderella came back into play. Damn it Maas! So close. We, readers, were told of the last four months break in between the two novels. A thrilling tale of assassinations and cold shoulders. I wish now that Crown of Midnight started a little sooner so I could relish in a sensible assassin Celaena.

She came back though, fear not. I found Crown of Midnight to be far more likeable than Throne of Glass. I couldn’t tell you if it was the lack of faults I found in her character, or the evidence of actual bad ass-ness. I didn’t even mind the fault in physics this time. And isn’t that what a good book is supposed to do? Make you forget the physical boundaries of the human world? I think so too. You guys really aren’t needed for this blog conversation I appear to be having with myself. It’s like Dora the Explorer, how she waits for you to answer a question and then answers it herself.

There is something truly irritating about a character who insists on keeping secrets, to no obvioustumblr_m29bk8LPwH1ro90doo1_500 end. I sensed that this was going to be a common occurrence with Miss Celaena Sardothien in Throne of Glass, the theme continued with Crown of Midnight. The strangest thing was that she fully realised this was a problem, even encountered the nasty side effects of not being completely open with someone then, SPOILER, they proceeded to die with questions and tales untold. Yet Cel goes about keeping secrets. I really don’t mind her keeping them from Chaol, he strikes me as an idiot whom I have no time for. But she should share them with Dorian, who is in just as, if not more, of a dangerous situation, is magical, and doesn’t blindly follow the king.

Despite this, her faults are actually decreasing, but best of all, she is now fighting with double swords! Yes! My avid blog readers could probably not tell you that I have an obsession with just this thing, as spoken about in previous, equally enthralling posts. Double swords are the shit. Impractical, tumblr_inline_mtg3cxycBX1r49tzv unlikely, and totally bad ass. I’m now in a state of, should I go out and attain the next one, or get through my current pile of books?… Luckily I planned ahead and sneaky sneaky got my sister and my friend into reading them. So they can buy, I can borrow, we can all live happily ever after.

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

