‘Shadow Kiss’ by Richelle Mead

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Do you ever feel like you are the only person who has ever, in the history of being, read the book you just finished? Including the author. More specifically, do you ever feel like you are the only person who could ever possibly grieve over the loss of a two dimensional character so you curl ShadowKiss_Novelup in someone, anyone’s, lap and just think about the world?  This is all hypothetical of course, I was a total adult when I finished Shadow Kiss. I ate five serves of vegetables and did my taxes.

I don’t remember who I was before I started Shadow Kiss. When I look back on young, naive Amy, I picture someone in pigtails who skipped everywhere with a picnic basket – because she always had picnics to go to. Post Shadow-Kiss-Amy won’t be attending anymore picnics. She really isn’t up to it. Dimitri is gone from the world, Rose is a crazy lady who is being haunted by the ghosts of her dead almost-lovers, Tatiana is a literal royal bitch, and Christian is on the verge of being my new favourite person… What….How… How do I even go on with my life from here. Well, the obvious answer is move along to Blood Promise. But guys, I have a review to write in the meantime. The few hours of not reading in between the two books has seriously done my head in. My dinner of drunken kebab, I mean…steamed vegetables and a large drink of water, was tasteless in my mouth. Alcohol wouldn’t numb the pain – Adrian taught me wrong.

There is so much I need to talk to you guys about. First of all, lets discuss how this gigantor bitch Tatiana ever got a tiara on that idiot head of hers? How do people like that get into power? Why did Adrian ever defend her! She bitches out Vasilisa in the first book, in front of the world – pretty much how we all see high school, then in Shadow Kiss she places love bans all over the shop, no Adrian for Rose, no Christian for Vasilisa. Then the absolute worst:

“Christian Ozera?” That condescending smile of hers tightened. “There is no way Vasilisa Dragomir is going to marry him.”

“Well, yeah. Not anytime soon. I mean, they’re going to college and-“

“Not now, not ever,” interrupted Tatiana. “The Dragomirs are an ancient and exalted line of royalty. Their last descendent is not going to attach herself to someone like him.”

(p 212, Tatiana the bitch and Rose)

Rose went along and defended his royal-ness which didn’t suit me at all. I have compiled a short list of more appropriate retorts that I give Mead full leeway to use in any reprints that may happen in the future.

  1. Rose: You mean like you attach yourself to being a psychotic bitch?
  2. Rose: I think the line of royalty has been well ‘assaulted’ when you were appointed Queen.
  3. Rose: Did you get your normal and adjusted ideas of love from your husband?… Oh you don’t have one.
  4. Rose: ha ha ha – swift punch in the face.

tumblr_n0zn3jeUgj1sejk9do2_250Like I mentioned earlier in my rant, Christian is quickly becoming my favourite character. With Rose on her anti-happy moods, Christian the emo is the light-hearted joker in this series. He fights for the good of the world, unlike everyone else in his own elitist race. Christian is why I’m going to go back to this series with hope in my heart. Wish me luck.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

7 thoughts on “‘Shadow Kiss’ by Richelle Mead

  1. Bec Graham

    Omg just wait for Blood Promise. OMG… I always hated Tatiana. BUT she was the only one to give Adrian any sort of belief in who he is.

    I’d forgotten how awesome Christian is. I cannot wait to get reacquainted in The Ruby Circle.

    The worst thing about your having read Bloodlines first is that you already know what happens to Tatiana! That twist kinda took my breath away the first time I read it.

    Good luck with Blood Promise! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. bornandread

    I just finished Shadow Kiss yesterday, and I refuse to believe that Dimitri is no more. I’ve seen enough series of Vampire Diaries to hold out hope for some sort of Strigoi cure?!

    Like

    Reply

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

