‘Blood Promise’ by Richelle Mead

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

It has been less than a day since I finished Shadow Kiss and here I am writing my next review. I swear there is more to my life than reading the Vampire Academy, I just can’t remember at the present time.books_bloodpromise_big

Despite all the darkness of Rose the spirit sucker that was present in the last book, we do get to see Rose come back with a little more sarcasm and vivaciousness that we have all come to know and love.  I was very apprehensive starting Blood Promise, because I knew Rose would be beyond depressed now that she has lost the love of her life, and is stuck in Russia and is shit at speaking Russian. It would get to the best of us.

I was so happy when we finally came into contact with the Bloodines protagonist Sydney Sage. It is so interesting seeing her from the outside. She is bitchy and cold, but Mead still makes the reader like her with Rose’s attitude towards her. Maybe it’s just me because I knew Sydney so well before I even met her. Rose and Sydney are just the cutest frenemies, I hope I get to see more of them together in the later books.

Her face stayed bland. “Moroi drink blood. Dhampirs are the unnatural offspring of them and humans.”

No one had ever called me unnatural before, except for the time I put ketchup on a taco. But seriously, we’d been out of salsa, so what else was I supposed to do? “Moroi and Dhampirs are not evil,” I told Sydney. “Not like Strigoi.”

“That’s true,” she concede. “Strigoi are more evil.”

“Hey, that’s not what I-“

(p. 38, Sydney and Rose)

I really really wish I had read Vampire Academy before I read Bloodlines so that most of the plot wasn’t spoiled for me. I’m always interested when a new character comes into the novels, like Avery Lazar. I know nothing about her or her storyline. So that was a nice little reprieve while it lasted…

There is something that has been plaguing me for a few novels now. What is the go with the tattoos? Dhampirs get molnija marks on the back of their necks when they kill a Strigoi. Rose got tumblr_n7hknfrTon1sx948ro1_250her first one after the Mason incident in Frost Bite. They had big tattooing scene with guardian kisses and love etcetera.  I don’t understand if I have missed something. But Rose has many marks now, yet no visits to tattoo parlours. Mead didn’t give me the impression Rose made any stops from the battle grounds to running away to Strigoi hunting, yet more molniga tattoos keep appearing. Did Mead leave it out? Does Rose get humans to tattoo it when she makes a new kill whilst on the run? Is it magical ink that just appears when she has killed a new one? I NEED ANSWERS!

Also is it just me or does Mead have a thing for flowers? In all of her novels, I feel like 50% of the time I have the imaginary cloying smell of roses in my nose. Rose is a flower, Sydney has a lily tattooed on her cheek. Adrian is just always bringing flowers. They seem to be everywhere and I feel like I’ve got hay fever just from reading – and I don’t even get hay fever.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

2 thoughts on “‘Blood Promise’ by Richelle Mead

  1. karaebenhack

    Answering your questions on the molnija tattoos! Every time they get a kill there is a tattooing ceremony (done by fellow Guardians who have some sweet tattooing skills) to give them their marks, like the first one you saw in Frostbite. They just don’t show us in the narrative every time there is a ceremony, which IMO is a good thing. It would definitely slow down the pace and I’d probably have stopped reading if we had to read through every ceremony for every time Rose killed a Strigoi by the end of the series!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Amy Wallin Post author

      Thank you! Yeah it actually explained it within the first few pages if the next book. Silly me. It makes me OCD panic when I think about her not having the correct amount on her neck.

      Like

      Reply

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

