‘Silver Shadows’ by Richelle Mead

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

You know when you get up to the fifth book on the series and you think back to book one and the pathetic little worries that you use to have. Remember Keith? I use to want him dead. Then I met Zoe. Then I met Sheridan.  I used to like Adrian, then hated him, then I felt bad for liking him, then bad for hating him.

“Are you in a suit?” I managed at last, my voice choking up. “You didn’t have to dress up for me.”

“Quiet Sage,” he said. “I’ll make the hilarious one-liners during this daring rescue.”

(p. 278, Sydney and Adrian)

This one got dark. There were moments – in the previous book – of darkness. But this book went so over the top on darkness, I forgot I was reading about witches and vampires and love that conquers all. I thought I was mid-way through a clockwork orange.

Incoming – medieval brainwashing techniques, torture, months of isolation in womb-like captivity, 8709524poison, gassing, betrayal, no coffee. This book made the rest look like their pages were made of fairy floss (cotton candy for Americans).

Then Mead tried to make up for all the horror by summing up with your average fantasy wedding, complete with runaway helicopter. Nice try Mead, my soul is still a blackened shrivelled piece of coal after what you put me through. Also Adrian and I are on the outs.

It’s hard having a fight with a fictional character. He can’t hear why I hate him. He can’t hear my well thought out, logical reasoning as to why he is a phenomenal shithead. Adrian and I have been on again, off again. I appreciate his quick wit and boyish charm. But he’s also incredibly selfish and living for the moment’s satisfaction. I hope he knows Sydney can do better… But then again he would only use it to feel sorry for himself even more. I’m not a forgiving person. I’m not very understanding of his ‘spirit using’.

You want to know how hard it was for me to put down a single quote, or even a single paragraph of my favourite moments in Silver Shadows. It would be more accurate to copy the entire book. However. My most prised moments was when Sydney had an attitude about her – no longer the do-gooder alchemist teachers pet. She forms her own opinions now.

“Have you thought about your sins, Sydney?’

…More words…

“I slept,” I said, stifling a yawn. “No time to think.”

[p. 2, god knows (probs Sheridan) and Sydney]

As a side note. Why….On Richelle Mead’s Goodreads Author blurb does it start with ‘Scorpio Richelle Mead‘? Is that seriously what her title is! Not author? It makes me worry about her. Fair enough to live in an imagination of magic and vampire sex…But star signs…SERIOUSLY!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

2 thoughts on “‘Silver Shadows’ by Richelle Mead

  1. Stephanie @ Inspiring Insomnia

    I’m glad that you liked this so much! I’m going to read SIlver Shadows in the next week or two, and I’m hoping I like it as much as you did. Fiery Heart was a letdown for me – first time I’ve said that about a VA or Bloodlines book!

    Like

    Reply

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

