Authors who take up more than the allocated space on my bookshelf. So Greedy.

The Top Ten Tuesday from the Broke and the Bookish – top ten authors you own the most books from is more like – once did own. I have a short list of important things in my life that constantly go missing. You must understand, it’s not because I don’t love them. I do. Maybe too much.

With my socks, I love them too much. I wear them too much, and wear them out too much. My sister has a theory that the fluff that builds up in the drier is actually decomposed socks. Likely. I also lose books. Maybe I sleep walk and set them on fire. More likely I give them out, demanding that other people love them like I love them. Maybe they love them too much and never give them back. Anyway. Once upon a time, in a land where I still have all of my books, this is who I own the most from.

1. Emily Rodda

This list is going to be kindof swayed from my childhood. When I only read two to three authors. Ever. When I was knee high to a grasshopper I had an almighty obsession with Deltora Quest – and subsequent Deltora series… And the Rowan of Rin series. When I moved out of home I discovered they made it into an anime series.

2. J.K Rowling

I assume every single other person has this on their list as well. What kind of psychopath doesn’t hpown all the Harry Potter books? What kind of psychopath doesn’t reread them all once every two or three years? Or at least the last one… Oh the feels are all coming back. Fred… nooooo!

3. Christopher Paolini

When I was younger (read: when I was exactly the same age as I am now) I loved dragons. I was a weirdo little twelve year old who collected skulls and dragons and crystal balls. I had a belief I wasn’t meant for this world. I was meant for Alagaesia.  I was meant to ride dragons – despite my crippling fear of falling.

4. Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments was my last obsession. If you look to your right (on a computer), you mayjace even see a picture of myself and two other girls dressing up as shadow hunters. Fun fact – you will not get into night clubs if you have runes on your neck. It scares the bouncers. Fair enough, we looked bad ass.

5. Richelle Mead

This is my most current obsession, So… I’m about to own a lot more of Mead I have a strong feeling. I went all wanky and read Bloodlines before I had read the first series: Vampire Academy. Silly girl. No matter – there was no turning back. I read The Golden Lily and The Indigo Spell in quick succession. I cant quite finish the series because it hasn’t exactly been written yet. But there is something very reassuring knowing I still have Vampire Academy to go (Literally in the post on it’s way to me now).

6. George R.R. Martin

This was one of those – not sleeping for a week and a bit series. I struggled my face off with the fist few chapters and the bazillion (not overestimating) characters and info-dumping. But I got the hang of my new kingdom, and I became Jaime, Sansa, and Tyrion for the next two weeks of my life. Amy was no more.

7. J.R.R. Tolkien

Tell me, do you have to have two middle names both starting with R to become an epic fantasymordor writer? Though I’ll just say it now – the movies were better. Cringe. I know. But it is crazy true. There are just too many songs and poems throughout the novels and I stated noticing weird things. Like this Tom charater who spoke in third person was exactly the same as another Tom character in the Deltora Quest series who also spoke in third person. Eugh. It was just unsettling.

8. Scott Westerfeld

I went through an ‘Uglies’ phase in highschool. There is something about getting a complete beautification surgery at the age of 16 that really appealed to 13 year old me. I read them over and over wanting to just step into that world and be one of those docile Pretties, hoverboarding and drinking champagne. I also owned ‘Midnighters’. Everytime I think of ‘Midnighters’ I feel like de-constructed tacos…

9. Philip Pullman

Fair enough I only have three of his books. But you know what, even some of my favourite authors only have two books! And I am yet to get on this Rainbow’s (is that seriously her name?) band wagon. That is an August job. Actually nooo. No. I have August reading plans… Anyway Phillip Pullman is one such Author.  He didn’t need to prove it to me a million times over.

10. John Marsden

Tomorrow When the War Began may just well be my favourite dystopian series ever. It’s homerAustralian – which for a start is odd. It isn’t fantasy – which for me is odd. And there is 7 + 3 books to the first and second series. So that alone pumps up my authorial ownership. At the present time on my bookshelf, I can only see two of his books…. I should really hunt this shit down.

For the benefit of understanding this gif to it’s full perfection:

Situation: Snake in sleeping bag.

Ellie: shake it!

Homer shakes what his mama gave him.

Ellie: The bag, Beyonce

 

Confession: I actually have about seventy thousand Percy Jackson books on my bookshelf also. But I haven’t read them… and they’re my sisters. I promise I’ll get to them Cassie! One day.

Images sourced: Tumblr

12 thoughts on “Authors who take up more than the allocated space on my bookshelf. So Greedy.

  1. fionamillerstevens

    Great list! 🙂 I love that you have John Marsden on it. The Tomorrow series was fantastic but I must admit I didn’t finish the first book in the Ellie Chronicles. I started reading it and was so distraught by her family situation that I gave up. Now that I’ve had a bit of time to recover I should probably try again.

    I’m intrigued by what you’ve written about Richelle Mead – I’ll have to check her out.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Amy Wallin Post author

      It still distresses me when I think about it. Ellie chronically were definite not as good. Responsibility is a whole other thing when you still have laws to abide by.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Alex @ The Book Banner

    Your list is great! I have Tolkien and J.K. Rowling on my as well (which I think most everyone has them on their lists.) I’m on the middle of The Mortal Instruments right now it’s pretty good, definitely something to get obsessive about.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT.
    Alex @ The Book Banner

    Like

    Reply

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

