‘The Indigo Spell’ by Richelle Mead

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I arranged to have the Indigo Spell a foot away from me when I finished reading the Golden Lily. There were no pauses, no snack breaks, no breathing in between books. They have almost merged together in my brain. Luckily the last two books I read start with a travelling scene. So I The Indigo Spellthink that’s how I’ll differentiate. I hope the rest of the books follow suit so I can keep them all separate in my brain… It will never happen.

Anyway the Indigo Spell did not disappoint. I was much concerned that this plot-stopping kiss in the last book would sortof be brushed over, or ignored awkwardly by all the characters but no! It was only 30 pages in where I found my quote. The one that stops my breath for a moment. I almost squealed girlishly, but I maintained my dignity. On the outside. Inside I squealed and screamed and shed happiness tears.

“Well, you can think what you want, so long as you remember – no matter how ordinary things seem between us – I’m still here, still in love with you, and care about you more than any other guy, evil or otherwise, ever will.”

p. 30, Adrian Ivashkov

You can breath again now. The entire book followed suit – Adrian refusing to stop loving her and even had the audacity to tease Sydney that she loved him back. Despite the seriousness of the situation it was so cute! Agh. Teenage Amy is just freaking out right now. I’m basically an adult now and I still fangirl out over a first kiss of fictional characters. Not to spoil anything, but now that this romantic chase is over I’m worried about the rest of the book will be dull. I’ll let you know in the next review. Maybe they will have other romantic dramas.

too muchThere was just sooo many plot lines happening in the book. I know Sydney Sage seemed to have it all prioritised and organised but I was sitting on my living room floor – having progressed from the couch, starting to put all she had to do into an excel spreadsheet so I could keep it all straight.  Vampire Storyline, Witch storyline, Love storyline, Bogan Vampire Hunter storyline. Just so much. Then there were all these little side storylines going on that you, as a reader, could see what was going on, but Sydney, AKA the smartest lady in all the land seemed totally oblivious to.

In the Golden Lily review, I questioned where they were going to go with Sydney’s obvious betrayal to the Alchemists. They revealed a loop hole in the Indigo Spell when they introduced a third Alchemist group whom she calls the ‘Merry Men’. I don’t even know their real name right now. They don’t even seem that Merry. Anyhow, the Merry Men are shunned from all other Alchemist groups. I mean – they also seem against human and vampire relationships, but they appear more lenient than the extremes of the Alchemists and the Warriors of the Sun. Or Light. I really don’t know that anymore either. God was I even reading this book?

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

6 thoughts on “‘The Indigo Spell’ by Richelle Mead

  1. Pingback: ‘The Fiery Heart’ by Richelle Mead | It's Only Three

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

