And so it begins

 

 

Image

This first post has been a long while coming. I have been instructed, persuaded, lectured, and threatened to start a blog before. All writing students have. Our lecturers all insist it is for practising purposes. But what they mean is: ‘this is the only thing that will keep you writing now that you have chosen this pit of eternal despair as your career path. YOU FOOLS! <mad cackle>’. Didn’t you know all professors of writing are insane?

Back in the ye-olde days, people who were cursed with the writing disease would keep it to themselves and write it in a diary. Or, if they had talent, connections, and the right appendage, would write a book (no matter how boring the content – looking at you Dickens). Now we blog. I don’t know if it is because, at heart, we are all narcissistic, or because we have wisdom to share, or it’s the only way most of us can get published. I think it’s mostly the professor standing outside my window with a shank-pen. A writer’s weapon of choice.

So today. I potted two plants, I got a job rejection phone call, I watched a candle go crazy burny for a minute, and then I decided to start a blog. I’m sure I’ll remember this day… for the rest of the week. Having never written a blog before I’m not entirely sure what to expect, but I get the feeling I will be just darling at it. For now, here is what you can expect:

  • Musings
  • Stories
  • Reviews (of all the things) with little reviewing structure
  • Tangents
  • More than a few swear words (fair warning my fellow readers.)
  • So many brackets. And Hyphens. And other punctuation that has fallen out of fashion.

I shall, however, employ this creative license that I hear so much about when it comes to grammar and punctuation. How else will you know an afterthought when you see it? For now I should probably re-enter the three dimensional world.

Maybe blow out that candle before it catches onto my shelves of literary kindling.

Maybe I’ll write some more.

What the hell. It’s only three.

Thanks for commenting! I love to read your opinions (and validations hehe)

